Brushes & Ink of the East – more from Great China

January 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm 2 comments

In my trip to china i have purchased some art supplies, brushes, ink, and paper :)

I have googled about art in china, and I have read that their brushes & ink are very special and different than western art brushes. so I had a target to find me some. I was aware that there are different type of brushes, some used for calligraphy, and others for painting, with different type of hair,{ goat, wolf, & combination}.

now the ink I had no idea what I was looking for, but I was glad to find a nice shop in Shanghai, that had two variations, liquid & block, that needs a grinding stone, which was clever of me to purchase as well ^__^ cuz otherwise it is useless without the stone !! I also got a couple of sheets, similar to rice paper, am not sure if they are any good yet! and colored ink blocks, basically similar to water colors :)

I must say thank God for youtube!! i found so many useful tutorials to help me use all those tools and supplies, even better, help avoid common mistakes, and inspire you with so many good ideas :)

so check out what i did

and after experimenting with the brushes and colors, i must say it wasn’t as easy as i thought it would be, simply cuz i was used to western water color technique, and applying it with those brushes and colors doesn’t really work.

this is the final result, not bad for my first time ;) i added some strokes in pencil colors just to give it some depth..

I selected some of the videos I found useful, check em out to get an idea of what am talking about,  their amazing (sometimes tiring) techniques & art work ^__^

now that I have seen them, am gonna try again, with the right technique this time, and lets see what happens ;)

this is a very helpful video on how to grind and use the ink blocks, with the stone;


another video to explain the difference between the type of brushes;


this video shows the technique of using the brushes in painting, the last part, shows the common mistakes used in handling the brush (in which i have been doing)



Entry filed under: Art, random thoughts, travel journal. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Bunnies to EAT :O baking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miss Good Egg  |  February 1, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Is it weird that find the ink cubes dangerously delicious? They look like chocolate.

    • 2. twomatoes  |  February 1, 2012 at 11:16 am

      LOL yes its weird ;P


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2012
« Dec   Feb »

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

